Joe Burrow, LSU too much for Clemson on way to national championship


NEW ORLEANS — No. 1 LSU overcame a sluggish start to beat No. 3 Clemson 42-25 in a battle of unbeaten teams at the Superdome to capture the program’s third national championship since 2003 and the first under coach Ed Orgeron.

In doing so, LSU became the second team since 1897 to go 15-0 in a season, joining 2018 Clemson. The win cements the Tigers’ place among the great teams to ever come out of the SEC and adds this year’s team into the conversation for the best Bowl Subdivision team of the past 30 years.

There was a time on Monday night when the two national powers circled one another like heavyweights, trading punts like jabs as the pair eased into the national championship game.

Comfort zone established with minutes left in the first quarter, the matchup of college football’s last two unbeaten teams met pregame expectations. Behind two elite quarterbacks and a wealth of NFL-ready talent, LSU and Clemson began trading more…

Read Story